Sports

Sports has always been a big part of my life. As a child we did every sports possible but most serious I was about football. I played football at my hometown team Pyhäjärven Pohti until I was 20. At a men's team I played on the fourth and fifth level league.

During my years at the University I got excited about sports called floorball which I played for couple of years. My highlight of that career was one season on the second highest level team in Finland.

After studies I've not competed any more and my sports related hobbies have been more endurance type sports. Currently my main sports hobbies are mountain biking and cross-country skiing. I've also done quite a bit of hiking/trekking in the mountains.

I started mountain biking in 1999. I've owned many kind of mountain bikes and currently I ride an Ibis Ripmo which is my third Ibis in a row.

Ibis Ripmo
My Ibis Ripmo

Most of my trekking has taken places abroad. I've done treks in the Himalayas in Nepal, Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, New Zealand, Andes in Peru and several times in the Alps among others.

Kilimanjaro
Me in Tanzania at the peak of Africa's highest mountain Kilimanjaro (5.9 km).

Pyhäjärven Mieswoimistelijat Woltti is a traditional Finnish mens gymnastics group from my hometown Pyhäjärvi. You can't really call this hobby a sport since mainly we tried to have fun and raise money for our trips. We have had fun and travelled extensively. The Woltti homepage is only in Finnish but the link is here because it includes some interesting pictures.